๐Ÿ”‘ 3 Success Rules that every Jr Devs must know

Three rules that my first mentor tell me my first day at work.

Introduction

My first job opportunity in Software development started with a 3 week training academy where i learned basics of Test Driven Development (TDD), Java, JUnit, and JavaScript.

The first day the teacher tell us 3 keys rules ๐Ÿ”‘ to success in software development that anyone must know.

In that moment i must know the rules to get the job. So, of course i applied that rules. But today, more than 5 years later and a successfully career on my back, i still apply this 3 basic but powerful rules and i will continue doing it.

The 3 key rules ๐Ÿ”‘๐Ÿ”‘๐Ÿ”‘

๐Ÿ”‘ 1 - Read the error

This may be basic for you, buy it is incredible the times some people ask for things that are in front of their noses.

When you are coding, especially if you are junior, it is normal that your code crash everywhere, that is fine, it is part of the process.

Errors appear all the time. โŒ

So before ask someone, read the error, please. Try to understand what is happening and why. Most the times you will figure out how to solve it by yourself. Trust me, you can do it. ๐Ÿ’ช

So, do not forget it: First rule, read the error.

๐Ÿ”‘ 2 - Internet has the "bible".

This is a variation of what my mentor tell me, but is close enough. He tell me "Stackoverflow is the bible" instead, but the principle is the same. ๐Ÿ“–

Google, Stackoverflow, Hashnode Posts, Official Documentation Sites, Reddit, Duckduckgo, blogposts, and more...

Every time you have doubts you must open your own holly book you prefer and search for a passage that helps you in time of trouble. ๐Ÿ”

Almost every challenge you face, 80% times someone faced it before, and if it not, a similar one.

So search it! Do not forget: Second rule, Internet has the "bible"

๐Ÿ”‘ 3 - Ask for help!

If you apply the firsts two rules and that thing still not working, ask for help. Don't be shy. First times you will have to ask a lot!

Some times answers are not trivial. This is fine, if you read the error, search for it in internet and have not clue, ask for help.

If you did those things you will not do a dumb question! You just miss something or the problem is really hard.

So remember: Third rule, ask for help.

Bonus track ๐Ÿ“ผ

I pass this knowledge to my Jr and not so Jr colleagues every time i can, wishing help them like my mentors help me then.

Today i pass this to you. So, i hope this will help you and also you help others because this will make you better in what you do. I can assure that.

ย